15 August 2013

List of Awards nominees announced for 10 voting categories

10 categories open to public voting including new My Favourite TVB Variety Show Host award

Singapore, 15 August 2013 – Back for the fourth year running, the StarHub TVB Awards 2013 will be held at the Marina Bay Sands on 28 September 2013. The night will begin with the stars arriving at the red carpet show in Level 1 Hall C at 5pm, followed by the Awards ceremony in the Grand Theatre at 7.30pm. Information on tickets sales can be found on the StarHub TVB Awards website from 19 August. Tickets will be available at $78, $98 and $128.

A total of 20 Awards categories will be up for grabs this year, with 10 open to public for voting. This year’s list of nominees in the voting categories sees the return of household names such as 2012 winners Kevin Cheng, Myolie Wu, Moses Chan, Linda Chung, Ruco Chan and Tavia Yeung. Notably, 2012’s Most Improved TVB Female Artiste winner Selena Li also makes it to this year’s My Favourite TVB Actress nomination list. Please refer to the Appendix for the complete list of voting categories and nominees. The remaining 10 non-voting categories will be revealed as the Awards draws nearer.

“Each year, the StarHub TVB Awards recognises the achievements of TVB artistes. The Awards not only brings viewers closer to the stars but lets them play a pivotal role in deciding who goes home with the coveted trophies. We received close to 200,000 votes from the public in 2012 and hope that the public will continue showing their strong support. We would like to congratulate all of this year’s nominees and wish them all the best,” said Ms Lee Soo Hui, Head of Media Business Unit, StarHub. “In addition, StarHub TV customers can now catch all their favourite TVB dramas on demand concurrently with the Hong Kong telecast. We know that customers are always eager to catch the latest TVB dramas and have worked hard to deliver their favourite dramas to them as soon as possible.”

Among the nominees for public voting, Triumph In The Skies II and Inbound Troubles lead the field with five nominations each. Close behind with three nominations each are Beauty at War, The Confidant and Witness Insecurity.

This year’s Awards will also see the introduction of a new category the My Favourite TVB Variety Show Host award. Nominees for this award include Pauline Lan (Lady First Singapore); Luisa Maria (Telling Maria); Louis Yuen, Wong Cho-lam and Johnson Lee (Games Gods Play); Johnson Lee (Office of Practical Jokes); and Tony Hung (Pilgrimage of Hope).

The 10 categories (My Favourite TVB Actress, My Favourite TVB Actor, My Favourite TVB Female TV Character, My Favourite TVB Male TV Character, My Favourite TVB Drama, My Favourite TVB Mega Variety Special, My Favourite TVB Variety Show, My Favourite TVB On-Screen Couple, My Favourite TVB Theme Song and My Favourite TVB Variety Show Host) are open to public voting via the StarHub TVB Awards website from today to 25 September 2013. All voters will stand a chance to win a pair of tickets to the 2013 StarHub TVB Awards 2013 awards ceremony. A total of 15 pairs of tickets will be given away.

The nominations for StarHub TVB Awards 2013 are jointly determined by StarHub and TVB for TVB programmes shown on E City (Ch 111/825), TVBS-Asia (Ch 828),  TVB8 (Ch 829), TVBJ (Ch 838),  VV Drama (Ch 855) and Video-On-Demand between 1 April 2012 and 30 August 2013.

The StarHub TVB Awards 2013 is proudly presented by Jean Yip Group. Returning as Main Sponsors are SK Jewellery and OSIM. The event is co-sponsored by Hada Labo, Panasonic and Phyto.