2 March 2000, Singapore -- StarHub Internet has won the coveted ‘ISP Of The Year’ award at the prestigious Internet World Asia Industry Awards organised by Penton Media and Internet World Magazine.


"This is certainly an honour for StarHub Internet as it represents the recognition of our efforts by our peers from the region. I accept this award on behalf of all my colleagues who had worked hard to make us the ISP of the Year," said Mr Tan Tong Hai, General Manager of StarHub Internet, in his acceptance speech.


This award is the second award StarHub Internet has received in the past three months. StarHub Internet was also voted the best ISP in an online poll conducted by CNet Singapore in December 1999.


Over 180,000 registrants have signed up for StarHub Internet’s Surf-For-Free offer since the introduction of this revolutionary free internet access plan three months ago. This brings StarHub Internet even closer to achieving its first-year target of signing up 200,000 registrants by December 2000.


"We are very delighted with the tremendous response from our users. When we first conceived of the Surf-For-Free plan, we looked at the Internet as a public park where anybody who wanted to visit could do so without having to worry about entry fees or time limitations. The response is truly testament to our revolutionary offer and the consumer has clearly shown their willingness to accept such a bold and innovative proposition," added Mr Tan.


The finalists for the Internet World Asia Industry awards was chosen from more than 500 nominations from public and corporate Internet users around the world. A panel of 20 judges, consisting of Asia''s leading Internet journalists, analysts and academics, shortlisted five nominees each in 12 categories and voted for the winners. Cable & Wireless HKT was also voted the joint winner in the same category. Other nominees include Capital Online (China), Jitong (China) and Satyaminfoway (India). Past winners of the Internet World Industry Awards held in North America have included Sun Microsystems, Netscape Communications, Yahoo! and Digital Equipment Corporation.