StarHub Awarded at 6th SIA Design Award 2001 for Interior Design - Commercial


Singapore, 6 September 2001 -- StarHub, Singapore’s innovative info-communications provider, was bestowed the prestigious Interior Design (Commercial) award at the 6th Singapore Institute of Architects (SIA) Design Awards on 1 September 2001. Held every three years, the Design Awards encourages appreciation and patronage of quality architectural design and rewards architectural companies for innovative architectural solutions and exemplary designs. StarHub’s corporate office at StarHub Centre caught the eyes of the distinguished jury comprising of both local and foreign members, including Mr Edward H Y Wong, President of SIA and Chief Judge and Mr Taro Ashihara, Vice President, Japan Institute of Architects.


"We are very thrilled to win this award as we worked very closely with our architects, HYLA Architects, to evolve a clear corporate design identity and strategy. Our intent was to foster openness, interactivity, and creativity through a contemporary office design, which also played an integral role in encouraging and supporting new ways of working and communicating. We thank HYLA Architects, in collaboration with HB Design, for their dedication in aligning the office design with StarHub’s philosophy of being innovative and challenging the norm," said Mr Terry Clontz, President and CEO of StarHub.


StarHub faced stiff competition as SIA had received an unprecedented 196 entries this year. It was also an arduous process for the jury who had to exercise objectivity, fairness and transparency in evaluating the entries. Each entry was individually presented via slide presentation and verbal narration, followed by a round of polling and a discussion session, where contentions were voiced and debated upon, before arriving at any consensus. Site visits were also conducted to ensure the quality of the entries under consideration.


Various assessment criteria were used to consider each entry. Firstly, an entry had to exert extra effort in transcending the basic requirements required, such as in conceptual design, site response or attentiveness to detail. Secondly, an entry had to exercise innovation within limitations such as space or budget. Thirdly, humane concerns had to be addressed in enhancing and articulating the design. The need for heritage was the fourth criteria and last, but not least, environmental concerns were also high on the jury’s list of assessment.


Said Mr Vincent Lee, Partner of HYLA Architects, "It was a challenging and rewarding experience working with StarHub, to evolve their unique corporate office design that not only speaks a thousand words about their corporate identity but is also a great place to work in. We congratulate StarHub for this deserving accolade!"


StarHub’s corporate office design was a step above the other entries as the jury appreciated the humane approach to layout planning, circulation and simple formal elements which exude a sense of peace and scale to the expansive open-plan office. The jury also agreed that modularity and flexibility in design were well balanced and helped to retain a consistent corporate identity.


"When anyone walks through StarHub’s doors, it’s a feast for the senses as they will be treated to a unique office design that exudes not only warmth through the usage of wood and cosy lighting, but also through vibrant colours. I enjoy working in StarHub’s corporate office everyday as its open concept aptly represents the working culture that we have, as well as the forward looking vision that we have through its futuristic designs," said Mr Chong Siew Loong, Project Manager of StarHub.


Winners of the 6th SIA Design Awards 2001 and Honourable Mention recipients are currently being showcased in a two-week exhibition at URA Centre from 1 to 14 September 2001.


- End -


Editor’s Note:

6th SIA Design Awards 2001

Jury Panel:

1. Mr Edward H Y Wong, President of SIA

2. Assoc. Prof. Milton Tan, Head of Department of Architecture, NUS

3. Mr Taro Ashihara, Vice President, Japan Institute of Architects

4. Ms Prosperidad C Luis, National President, United Architects of the Philippines

5. Prof. Sandi A Siregar, President, Indonesia Institute of Architecture